Welcome to the United Nations | Department of Economic and Social Affairs



IGF Opening Ceremony and Opening Session
6 November 2012
Baku, Azerbaijan
@ Baku Expo Center

Opening Ceremony of IGF 2012

Venue: Hall #2, Main Conference Hall

11:00 - 11:40

Mr. Wu Hongbo
Under Secretary General, Department of Economic and Social Affairs (UNDESA)

Mr. Hamadoun Touré
Secretary-General, International Telecommunications Union (ITU)

Statement on behalf of the Government of the Republic of Azerbaijan

Opening Session

(co-chaired by Mr. Wu Hongbo and Mr. Ali M. Abbasov)

11.40 - 13.45

Mr. Wu Hongbo
Under Secretary General, Department of Economic and Social Affairs (UNDESA), United Nations

Mr. Ali M. Abbasov
Minister of Communications and Information Technologies, Republic of Azerbaijan

List of Speakers (in speaking order):

Mr. Botange Ndemo,

Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Information and Communcations, Republic of Kenya

Mr. Carlos Afonso
Executive Director, Núcleo de Pesquisas, Estudos e Formação (NUPEF)

Mr. Denis Sverdlov
Deputy Minister, telecom and Mass Communications, Russian Federation

Mr. Eiichi Tanaka

Vice-Minister for Policy Coordination, Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications (MIC), Japan

Mr. Andreas Reichhardt

Vice-Minister, Federal Ministry for Transport, Innovation and Technology, Austria

Mr. Lawrence E. Strickling

Assistant Secretary for Communications and Information, National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA), U.S. Department of Commerce, United States of America

Ms. Lynn St. Amour

President and CEO, Internet Society (ISOC)

Mr. Janis Karklins

Assistant Director-General for Communication and Information, UNESCO

Mr. Jean-Guy Carrier

Secretary General, International Chamber of Commerce (ICC)

Mr. Eligijus Masiulis,

Minister of Transport and Communications, Republic of Lithuania

Mr. Genc Pollo

Minister for Innovation , Information and  Communication Technology, Republic of Albania

Mr. Alan Marcus

Senior Director, Head of IT& Telecommunication Industries, World Economic Forum (WEF)

Mr. Amirzai Sangin

Minister of Communication and Information Technology, Islamic Republic of Afghanistan

Mr. Edward Vaizey

Minister for Culture, Communications and Creative Industries, United Kingdom

Mr. Hany Mahmoud

Minister of Communications and Information Technology, Arab Republic of Egypt

Mr. Žiga Turk
Minister for Education, Science, Culture and Sport, Republic of Slovenia

Ms. Amelia Andersdotter

Member of the European Parliament (MEP)

Mr. Vinton Cerf

Vice President and Chief Internet Evangelist for Google Inc.

Mr. Kapil Sibal

Minister of Communications and Information Technology, Republic of India

Mr. Fadi Chehadé

President and CEO, Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Number (ICANN)

Lunch Break