Welcome to the United Nations | Department of Economic and Social Affairs

Day 1 – 22 October

14:30-17:30 – Main Hall – Opening Ceremony

The traditional opening ceremony will be held in the main hall in the afternoon of the first day. Speakers representing all stakeholder groups will give brief remarks to the participants to help kick-off the discussions of the 8th IGF.

List of Speakers:

H. E Paulo Bernado Silva
Minister of Communications, Federative Republic of Brazil

Mr. Shadi Abou-Zahra
Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI) Lead, World Wide Web Consortium (W3C)

Ms. Sabine Verheyen
Member of the European Parliament

H. E Masahiro Yoshizaki
Vice Minister for Policy Coordination, Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communication, Japan

Mr. Fadi Chehadé
President and CEO, Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN)

Mr. Jānis Kārkliņš
Assistant Director-General for Communication and Information, UNESCO

Ambassador Danny Sepulveda
US Coordinator for International Communications and Information Policy

Mr. Alan Marcus
Senior Director, Head of IT and Telecommunication Industries, World Economic Forum (WEF)

Ms. Nnenna Nwakanma
Civil Society, Africa Regional Coordinator, World Wide Web Foundation

Ms. Lynn St. Amour
President and CEO, Internet Society (ISOC)

Ms. Christine Arida
Regional National IGF, Director for Telecom Services Planning at the National Telecom Regulatory Authority of Egypt and Head of the Arab IGF Secretariat

H.E. Ms. Neelie Kroes  [via video]
Vice-President of the European Commission, Commissioner for the Digital Agenda

Mr. Jari Arkko
Chair of the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF)

Mr. Joseph Alhadeff
Chair ICC's Digital Economy Commission

Mr. Edward Vaizey
Minister for Culture, Communications and Creative Industries, United Kingdom

Mr. Jovan Kurbalija