30 October, 10-13 Hours

Opening Ceremony

Chairman: Michalis Liapis, Minister of Transport & Communications, Greece

List of Speakers:

  • Konstantinos Karamanlis, Prime Minister of Greece
  • Nitin Desai, Special Adviser to the United Nations Secretary- General for Internet Governance
  • Yoshio Utsumi, Secretary-General, International Telecommunication Union
  • Tarek Kamel, Minister of Communications & ICT, Egypt
  • Viviane Reding, Commissioner for Information Society & the Media, European Commission
  • Guy Sebban, Secretary-General, International Chamber of Commerce
  • Natasha Primo, Executive Director, Women's Net
  • Vint Cerf
  • Bob Kahn


30 October, 1500-1800
Setting the scene
Session Chairman: Panagis Vourloumis, President & CEO of the Hellenic Tellecom Organization (OTE)
Moderator: Kenneth Cukier, The Economist

  • Karen Banks, APC
  • Phil Bond, President and CEO of ITAA
  • Bertrand de La Chapelle, Special Envoy for the Information Society, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, France
  • Yin Chen, Director General, Department of Foreign Affairs, Ministry of Information Industry, China
  • Pierre Dandjinou, UNDP/Chairman of AFRINIC
  • David Gross, Ambassador, Department of State, US
  • Jean-Jacques Massima Landji, Head of Delegation (Gabon)
  • Hideo Shimizu, Vice-Minister, Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications, Japan
  • Juan Carlos Solines Moreno, Head of ICT and Telecoms Regulatory Authority, Ecuador
  • David Souter, Managing Director, ict Development Associates ltd./ Professor, Business School, University of Strathclyde, Glasogow
  • Lynn St.Amour, CEO ISOC
  • Manolis Stratakis, Member of the Greek Parliament
  • Sharil Tarmizi, Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC), Chairman of ICANN’s Government Advisory Committee (GAC)
  • Paul Twomey, CEO, ICANN

Short biographies of the panellists are available here.


31 October, 1000-1300


Session Chairman: Theodoros Roussopoulos, Minister of State of Greece

Moderator: Nik Gowing, Main Presenter, BBC World

  • Carlos Afonso, Technical Director of RIT (services and capacity-building network of ICTs)
  • Anriette Esterhuysen, Executive Director, APC
  • Hanne Sophie Greve, former judge at the European Court of Human Rights
  • Joichi Ito, Creative Commons
  • Jamie Love, Director, CPTech
  • Senator Paschal Mooney, Government Spokesperson on Foreign Affairs (Ireland), broadcaster/ journalist
  • Andrew Puddephatt, OBE, various human rights organizations
  • Art Reilly, Senior Director, Strategic Technology Policy, Cisco Systems
  • Richard Sambrook, Director BBC Global News
  • Fred Tipson, Senior Policy Counsel , Microsoft,
  • Catherine Trautmann, Member of the European Parliament

Short biographies of the panellists are available here.


31 October, 1500-1800


Session Chairman: Ioannis Tsoukalas, Secretary General of Research & Technology, Hellenic Ministry of Development

Moderator: Kenneth Cukier, The Economist

  • David Belanger, Chief Scientist, AT&T Labs
  • Lamia Chaffai, Director general, Tunisian certification agency (ANCE)
  • Ilias Chantzos – Symantec, Head of Government Relations, EMEA & Chair BSA  Europe
  • Chengqing Huang, Deputy Director, CNCERT/CC, China
  • Gus Hosein, Information Systems Group, LSE / Privacy International
  • Rikke Frank Joergensen, Danish Institute for Human Rights
  • Prof. Henrik W. K. Kaspersen, President of the Council of Europe Cybercrime Convention Committee
  • Arkady Kremer, Chairman, Russian Association of Networks and Services
  • Andrew Maurer, Dept of Communications IT and the Arts, Australia
  • Margrate Moran, MP, UK
  • Terayasu Murakami, Chief Counselor of Nomura Research Institute (NRI), Director of Tokyo Club Foundation for Global Studies, Acting Chairman of Electronic Commerce Promotion Working Group of Nippon Keidanren and Business Steering Committee Member of GBDe (Global Business Dialogue on electronic commerce)
  • Frederico Neves, CERT.br (Brasil), also member of the Security and Stability Advisory Committee (SSAC)
  • Richard Simpson, Director General, E-Commerce Branch, Industry Canada
  • Christiaan van der Valk, Vice President, Compliance Trustweaver

    Short biographies of the panellists are available here.


1 November, 1000-1300


Chairman: Nikolay Vassilev, Bulgarian Minister of State Administration & Administrative Reform

Moderator: Yoshinori Imai, The Japan Broadcasting Corporation (NHK)

  • Julian Casasbuenas, Director, Colnodo
  • Alex Corenthin, Manager of NIC Senegal and President of ISOC Senegal
  • Patrik Fältström, Stockholm - Consulting Engineer, Cisco Systems; Member, Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF); Member, Swedish Government IT Policy and Strategy Group
  • Divina Frau-Meigs, Professor of Media Sociology at the Université Paris 3-Sorbonne, France
  • Prof.Qiheng Hu, Chairperson, Internet Society of China
  • T.I.M. Nurul Kabir – CEO & Founder, Spinnovation Ltd.
  • Keisuke Kamimura, GLOCOM, Tokyo
  • Elizabeth Longworth, Executive Director, Office of the Director-General, UNESCO
  • Riyadh Najm, Saudi Arabia, Ass. Deputy Minister, Ministry of Culture and Information, Saudi Arabia, President of the Technical Committee of World Broadcasting Union
  • Adama Samassékou, President, African Academy of Languages, Bamako, Mali

Short biographies of the panellists are available here.



1 November, 1500-1800


Session Chairman: Vassilios Maglaris, President of the European National Research & Education Networks Policy Committee

Moderator: Ulysse Gosset, France 24

  • Gabriel Adonaylo, Regional IP Product Manager of Comsat International, Vice President of CABASE, (Cámara Argentina de Internet, Comercio) Electrónico,Contenidos y Servicios Online
  • Vincent Waiswa Bagiire, Director, CIPESA
  • Jim Dempsey, Center For Democracy & Technology, US
  • Mohamet Diop, CEO, Next SA, Dakar, Senegal
  • Georg Greve, Free Software Foundation Europe (FSFE)
  • Hugo Lueders, Secretary General, European e-Skills Certification Consortium” (e-SCC) / Director ,“Computing Technology Industry Association” (CompTIA) for Public Policy in Europe, Africa and Middle East, Brussels
  • Prof. Milton Mueller, Internet Governance Project
  • Michuki Mwangi, Administrative Manager of Kenyan Network Information Centre (ccTLD management)
  • Kishik Park, President of the IPv6 Forum, Korea / Chairman of ITU-T Study Group 3,
  • Sam Paltridge, OECD
  • Craig Silliman, VP and Deputy General Counsel for International Legal & Regulatory Policy, Verizon
  • Parminder Jeet Singh, IT for Change, India
  • Maria Simon, Chair ANTEL
  • Jonne Soininen, Systems Engineering Manager, Nokia Networks
  • Bill Woodcock, Packet Clearing House

Short biographies of the panellists are available here.


2 November, 1000-1300

Chair's Summing up
Taking stock and the way forward

Session Chairman: Mr. Nitin Desai, Special Adviser to the United Nations Secretary- General for Internet Governance

2 November, 1500-1700

Emerging issues

Session Chairman: Vassilios Asimakopoulos, Special Secretary of Information Society, Hellenic Ministry of Economics & Finance

Moderator: Afaf Belhouchet, ENTV (National Television Algeria)



2 November, 1700-1800

Closing Ceremony

Chairman: Michalis Liapis, Minister of Transport & Communications

List of Speakers

  • Nitin Desai, Special Adviser to the United Nations Secretary-General for Internet Governance
  • Augusto Cesar Gadelha Vieira, Secretary-General, Secretariat of Information Technology Policy, Ministry of Science and Technology and Chairman of the National Internet Steering Committee.
  • Adiel Akplogan, CEO, Regional Internet Registry (RIR) for Africa - AfriNIC
  • David Appasamy, Chief Communications Officer, Sify Limited, India
  • Jeanette Hofmann, Berlin - Researcher, Social Science Research Center
  • Michalis Liapis, Minister of Transport & Communications, Greece