2019 INTERNET GOVERNANCE FORUM BEST PRACTICE FORUM

GENDER AND ACCESS

- Virtual Meeting II, 13 May 2019, 13:00 UTC -

SUMMARY REPORT

- 1. The second meeting of the BPF Gender took place on 13 May 2019, 13:00 UTC, and was moderated by Radhika Radhakrishnan.
- 2. The agenda for the meeting is attached in Annex A1.
- 3. Each participant was given the opportunity to introduce themself, along with their interest in the BPF's work. The list of meeting participants is attached as Annex A2 to this Report.
- 4. 4. The BPF Gender 2019 will be facilitated by the MAG members: Maria Paz Canales (civil society LAC), Raquel Gatto (technical community LAC) and Chennai Chair (civil society Africa). Paula Real, Bruna Martins dos Santos, Cynthia el Koudi and Agustina Callegari will be supporting the work as Non-MAG co-facilitators.

Summary of raised key points

- MAG Updates

- No new information from MAG; Chenai and Maria will check on progress for hiring a BPF Gender consultant this year.

- 2019 work

Suggestions for 2019 work's sub-themes have been updated on the BPF Gender working document which can be accessed here: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1wbTsJMKJK7Q46BYKiquiQGpbk8
OXP277PDVuuSL7I/edit

Volunteers

- Focal points and volunteers to be assigned per sub-theme; public call for volunteers to go out before next call
- Google Forms to be used for call for volunteers

- Engagement with other stakeholders

- Suggestions for engagement strategies have been updated on the BPF Gender working document which can be accessed here:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1wbTsJMKJK 7Q46B YKiquiQGpbk8 QXP277PDVuuSL7I/edit

Next meeting

- TBD - mail will be sent out on the mailing list with details of the next meeting

Annex A1

Meeting Agenda

- 1. Welcome and introductions
- 2. Update from MAG members
- 3. 2019 work: discussion of the sub-themes
- 4. Call for volunteers draft
- 5. Engagement with other groups
- 6. AOB
- 7. Next meeting

Annex A2

List of participants

Agustina Callegari

Agustina and Solana

Amrita Choudhury

Chenai Chair

Cynthia

Debora Albu

Juliana Harsianti

Maria Paz

Ore Lesi

Raashi Saxena

Radhika Radhakrishnan

Ritse

Rohini Lakshane

Sarah Kiden

Timothy K. Asiedu