IGF MAG Renewal 2023 General guidance

General guidance and notes to take into consideration regarding nominations for a position on the MAG

‎The Internet Governance Forum (IGF) Multistakeholder Advisory Group (MAG) was established by the ‎United Nations Secretary-General in 2006 to assist the Secretary-General in convening the annual IGF ‎meeting by advising on the programme and schedule. MAG members serve in their personal capacity, but ‎are expected to have established linkages within stakeholder communities. More information is available in ‎the MAG Terms of References. ‎

The United Nations Secretary-General appoints members, with careful consideration of the ‎recommendations made by stakeholder groups and nominations from the broader community. The overall ‎composition of the MAG should have a regional, stakeholder and gender balance and in this light ‎nominators are requested to review past and returning MAG member affiliations. Further, the Secretary-‎General launched the gender parity strategy in September 2017 as part of a system-wide campaign to ‎advance this priority at the United Nations.‎

Members coming from the Government stakeholder group may hold up to 40% of the total number of ‎seats on the MAG, with the remaining percentage shared equally across the three other stakeholder ‎groups, i.e. civil society, private sector and the technical community. Individual appointments are for a one ‎‎(1)-year term, with a maximum of three (3) consecutive terms. Former IGF Host Countries hold one seat ‎each on the MAG. Treaty-based intergovernmental organizations can also hold observer seats on the ‎MAG. Countries that were not represented or were under-represented in previous MAG compositions will have ‎an advantage over those that have had continuous or frequent representation on the MAG.‎

At the end of the 2022 IGF cycle, nine (9) MAG members are due to be rotated out. ‎

‎2023 Membership balance
The 2023 composition will aim at having approximately 40% government’s representation, with other ‎stakeholder groups having equal number of members. The overall 2023 MAG membership composition will ‎balance the number of stakeholder groups across regions by region’s population and number of member ‎states.‎

In addition to gender parity, the MAG 2023 selection will give due consideration to representation of ‎stakeholders with experience in youth engagement, including through the National, Regional and Youth IGF ‎Initiatives (NRIs), as well as stakeholders with high level profiles and rich experience in Internet governance ‎policies, across all stakeholder and regional groups. This is in line with ongoing efforts to strengthen the IGF.‎

Countries that were not represented or were underrepresented in previous MAG compositions, will have ‎an advantage over those that have had continuous or frequent representation on the MAG. Below is the ‎historical overview of countries’ representation per the UN regional groups, with indication in parentheses ‎in case of multiyear* ‎representation:‎

Countries that have been represented on the MAG: Algeria, Benin, Burundi, Cameroon, Comoros, Republic ‎of Congo, DR Congo, Egypt (5), Ghana (3), Ivory Coast, Kenya (6), Mauritius (2), Madagascar, Malawi, ‎Morocco, Namibia, Nigeria ‎‎(9), Niger, Senegal (4), Somalia, South Africa (3), Sudan (2), The Gambia (2), Togo, ‎Tunisia (2), Uganda (4), Zambia, Zimbabwe (2).‎
Countries that have not been represented on the MAG: Angola, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, ‎Central African Republic, Chad, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Guinea-Bissau, Lesotho, ‎Liberia, Libya, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, ‎South Sudan, Swaziland, UR Tanzania.‎

Countries that have been represented on the MAG: Afghanistan, Bangladesh (3), China (15), Fiji (3), India ‎‎(9), Indonesia (3), Iran (2), ‎Japan (6), Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Malaysia (2), Nepal, ‎Pakistan (5), Philippines (3), Republic of Korea, Saudi Arabia, ‎Singapore (2), Sri Lanka (2), Thailand, Tuvalu, ‎United Arab Emirates (2), Vanuatu, Vietnam (2). ‎
Countries that have not been represented on the MAG: Bahrain, Bhutan, Brunei Darussalam,  Cyprus, ‎Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Lao People's Republic, Maldives, Marshall ‎Islands, Micronesia (Federated, States of), Mongolia, Myanmar, Nauru, Oman, Palau, Papua New ‎Guinea, Qatar, Samoa, Saudi Arabia, Solomon Islands, Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan, Timor-Leste, Tonga, ‎Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Yemen.‎

Countries that have been represented on the MAG: Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina ‎‎(3), Bulgaria (2), Croatia (2), Czech Republic (2), Estonia (2), Georgia, Hungary (2), ‎Latvia, Lithuania (2), ‎Macedonia, Moldova, Poland (3), Romania (2), Russia (7), Serbia (3), Slovakia, Ukraine.‎
Countries that have not been represented on the MAG: Albania, Montenegro, Slovenia.‎

Countries that have been represented on the MAG: Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina (7), Bahamas, ‎Barbados (2), Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Brazil (9), Chile (3), Colombia (3), Costa Rica (2), Cuba, ‎Ecuador ‎‎(2), El Salvador, Jamaica, Mexico (3), Paraguay, Peru (3), Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago (2), ‎Uruguay (4), ‎Venezuela.‎
Countries that have not been represented on the MAG: Belize, Dominica,  Dominican Republic, Grenada, ‎Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and ‎the Grenadines. ‎

Countries that have been represented on the MAG: Australia (8), Austria, Belgium (2), Canada (4), Finland ‎‎(5), France (6), Germany (6), ‎Greece, Italy (3), Netherlands (3), New Zealand (3), Portugal (2), Spain (3), ‎Sweden (4), Switzerland (2), UK (9), ‎USA (19).‎
Countries that have not been represented on the MAG: Andorra, Denmark, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, ‎Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Norway, San Marino. 
Former IGF Host Countries hold one permanent seat each on the MAG: Greece, Brazil, India, Egypt, ‎Lithuania, Kenya, Azerbaijan, Indonesia, Turkey, Brazil, Mexico, Switzerland, France, Germany and Poland.‎

*Please note that the overall composition depends on several considerations including the nominations ‎received, as well as the final decision of the UN Secretary-General.‎

List of members that are due to be rotated out
The table below indicates the nine (9) MAG members who have served three (3) consecutive terms on the ‎MAG in addition to one (1) no longer being able to continue serving.‎

Title Last Name, First Name Regional Group Stakeholder Group Terms Served
Mr.  Sheikh, Liban Abdulkadir Africa Government 3 terms
Mr.  Ndoumba, Eric Armel Africa Government 3 terms
Mr. Zhaoyo, JI Asia Pacific Government  3 terms
Ms.  Goulden, Anna WEOG Government  1 term
Mr.  Karim, Attoumani Mohamed Africa Private Sector 3 terms
Mr.  Seturi, Ucha Eastern Europe Private Sector 3 terms
Mr.  Espinosa, Amado GRULAC Private Sector 3 terms
Mr. Zambrana, Roberto GRULAC Technical Community 3 terms
Ms. Astbrink, Gunela WEOG Technical Community 3 terms


* Corresponds to one tenure of up to three consecutive years.‎