High-Level Leaders Track Engaging with some of the world leading experts

Through the IGF 2020 High-Level Leaders Track, experts and leaders from all stakeholder groups, including governments, civil society, private sector, technical communities, intergovernmental and international organisations and from all parts of the world, engaged in dialogues on "The role of Internet Governance in the Age of Uncertainty".

  • In which areas of people’s lives do we see the biggest impact of digital transformation for ‎sustainable development?‎
  • How can technologies work for people?


9 November Opening High-Level Session

Mr. Liu Zhenmin

Under-Secretary-General for Economic and Social Affairs | United Nations

H.E. Mr. Volkan Bozkır

President | UN General Assembly, 75th session

Ms. Doris Leuthard

Chair | Swiss Digital Initiative Foundation & Former President of Switzerland

H.E. Mr. Aiyaz Sayed Khaiyum

Attorney General and Minister | Ministry for Economy, Civil Service and Communications, Fiji

Mr. Houlin Zhao

Secretary-General | ITU

Ms. Chat Garcia Ramilo

Executive Director | Association for Progressive Communications

Mr. Jeffrey Sachs

Professor | Columbia University, Center for Sustainable Development

Ms. Victoria Grand

Vice President | WhatsApp ‎

Ms. Pamela Cretu

High-school student | Moldova

H.E. Mr. Munir Akram

President | United Nations Economic and Social Council

Mon. Paul Tighe

President | Centre for Digital Culture, Holy See

Mr. Thomas Jarzombek

Commissioner for the Digital Industry and Start-ups | Government of Germany

Mr. Jonathan Charles

Moderator | European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD)

11 November Health Implications

Ms. Anuradha Gupta

Deputy CEO | GAVI Alliance

Mr. Anurag Agrawal

Director | CSIR Institute of Genomics and Integrative Biology & Member | WHO Digital Health Advisory Group, India

Dr. Kira Radinsky

Chairwoman & CTO | Diagnostic Robotics

Ms. Malebona Precious Matsoso

Director of the Health ‎Regulatory Science Platform | University of the Witwatersrand

Mr. Bernardo Mariano Junior

Director and Chief Information Officer | World Health Organization, Department of Digital Health and Innovation

Mr. Patrick Leusch

Moderator | Head European Affairs at Deutsche Welle

12 November Economic Implications

Mr. Victor Harison

Commissioner for Economic Affairs | African Union

Mr. Mukhisa Kituyi

Secretary-General | The United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)

Ms. Armida Salsiah Alisjahbana

Executive Secretary | United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP)

Dr. Daniela Brönstrup

Deputy Director-General and Head of regulatory framework for digital policy, postal policy, international affairs and media | German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy

Mr. Yi Xiaozhun

Deputy Director-General | The World Trade Organization (WTO)

Mr. Ed Anderson

Chief Information Officer and Information Technology Department Director | The International Monetary Fund (IMF)

Mr. Daniel Trujillo

Executive Vice President, Global Chief Ethics & Compliance Officer | Walmart

‎Dr. Gillian Marcelle

Founder and Managing Member | Resilience Capital Ventures LLC ‎

Mr. Marco Zatterin

Moderator | La Stampa

13 November Security Implications

Ms. Latha Reddy

Co-Chair | Global Commission on the Stability of Cyberspace

Mr. John Denton

Secretary General | International Chamber of Commerce

Ms. Izumi Nakamitsu

Under-Secretary-General of Disarmament Affairs | United Nations

Mr. Eugene Kaspersky

CEO | Kaspersky

Mr. Christopher Painter

President | The Global Forum on Cyber Expertise

Dr. Enrico Calandro

Co-Director | Cybersecurity Capacity Centre for Southern Africa

Prof. Jovan Kurbalija

Moderator | Founding Director of DiploFoundation and the Head of the Geneva Internet Platform

16 November Social Development Implications

H.E. Ms. Paola Pisano

Minister | Ministry of Technological Innovation and Digitalization, Italy

Ms. Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka

Executive Director | UN Women

Mr. Yong LI

Director General | United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO)

Mr. Mario Cimoli

Deputy Executive Secretary | United Nations Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC)

Mr. Andrew Sullivan

President | Internet Society

Mr. Arunabha Ghosh

CEO and Founder | The Council on Energy, Environment and Water, India

Mr. Josh Kallmer

Head of Global Public Policy and Government Relations | Zoom

Mr. Rilli Lappalainen

Director of Sustainable Development | Fingo

Ms. Claire Melamed

CEO | Global Partnership for Sustainable Development Data

Ms. Gabriela Ramos

Assistant Director-General for Social and Human Sciences | UNESCO

Ms. Bedjaoui Ibtissem

Moderator | Algerian Television ‎

17 November Environmental Implications

H.E. Ms. Joyce Murray

Minister | Digital Minister for Canada

Ms. Joyce Msuya

Deputy Executive Director and Assistant Secretary-General | United Nations Environment Programme

Dr. Amy Luers

Global Lead, Sustainability Science | Microsoft

Ms. Rose Mwebaza

Director and Advisory Board Secretary | UNFCCC - Climate Technology Centre & Network (CTCN)

Ms. Celina Lee

Co-Founder & CEO | Zindi

Dr. Kelsey Leonard (Shinnecock)

Advisory Council Member | U.S. Indigenous Data Sovereignty Network and Assistant Professor, Faculty of Environment, University of Waterloo

Ms. Ania Lichtarowicz

Moderator | Senior Producer of BBC Digital Planet

17 November Closing High-Level Session

Mr. Antonio Guterres

Secretary-General | United Nations

H.E. Ms. Simonetta Sommaruga

President | Swiss Confederation

H.E. Mr. Ryota Takeda

Minister | Ministry for Internal Affairs and Communications, Japan

Ms. Vera Songwe

United Nations Under-Secretary-General and Executive Secretary | Economic Commission for Africa

H.E. Ms. María del Pilar Garrido Gonzalo

Minister | Minister of National Planning and Economic Policy, Republic of Costa Rica

H.E. Mr. Marek Zagórski

Secretary of State and The Government Plenipotentiary for Cybersecurity | Chancellery of the Prime Minister of the Republic of Poland

H.E. Dr. Ahmedin Mohammed

State Minister | Ministry of Innovation and Technology, Ethiopia

Mr. Maxim Parshin

Deputy Minister | Digital Development, Communications and Mass Media, Russian Federation

Mr. Krzysztof Szubert

Plenipotentiary for UN IGF 2021 | Republic of Poland ‎

H.E. Mr. Toomas Hendrik ‎Ilves‎

Former President of Estonia ‎

Mr. Liu Zhenmin

Under-Secretary-General for Economic and Social Affairs | United Nations

Mr. Fabrizio Hochschild

Special Adviser on the Preparations for the Commemoration of the United Nations’ 75th Anniversary ‎| United Nations Secretariat

Ms. Anriette Esterhuysen

Chair | IGF Multistakeholder Advisory Group

Mr. Vint Cerf

Vice President and Chief Internet Evangelist | Google

Ms. Vallarie Yiega

Youth Representative | Kenya

Mr. Goran Marby

CEO and President | Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers

Mr. Mats Granryd

Director General | GSMA

Mr. Brad Smith

President | Microsoft

Mr. Jonathan Charles

Moderator | European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD)